Northwest (NW) Umpires History

Since 1921, the Northwest Association of Umpires has prided itself on providing the game of baseball with the high level of quality officiating that it deserves. We are the premier umpire association in the Northern Midwest, based in Minnesota’s Twin Cities of Minneapolis and Saint Paul. We umpire collegiate, high school, men’s amateur, and American Legion baseball throughout the state of Minnesota. For more than 100 years, the Northwest “NW” has been a symbol to our surrounding communities of commitment to the art of officiating the great sport of baseball. We are proud to build upon that tradition.

Leagues we cover – College

University of Minnesota

South Dakota State University

North Dakota State University

Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC):

Concordia University of St. Paul, Minnesota State University at Mankato, Southwest State University (Marshall, MN), St. Cloud State University, University of Minnesota-Duluth and Winona State University

NSIC Conference Tournament 

Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletics Conference (MIAC):

Augsburg, Bethel, Carleton, Concordia-Moorhead, Hamilne, Gustavus Adolphus, Macalester, St. John’s, St. Olaf, St. Mary’s, and St. Thomas

MIAC Conference Tournament 

Upper Midwest Athletic Conference (UMAC):

Crown College and Northwestern College (Roseville, MN)

UMAC Conference Tournament 

Minnesota Community Collegiate Conference (MCCC):
Anoka-Ramsey Community College, Dakota County Technical College, Rochester Community College

Leagues we cover – Summer

Metro Area Amateur (Class A):

Park National, Riverview

Out-State (Amateur Classes B & C):

Classic Cannon Valley, Cannon Valley, Crow-River, Dakota-Rice-Scott (DRS), River Valley

American Legion:

3rd District, 5th District, North Hennepin and South Hennepin

Leagues we cover – High School

Lake Conference (V & JV):
Eden Prairie, Edina, Hopkins, Minnetonka and Wayzata

Classic Suburban (V & B):
Henry Sibley, Hill-Murray, Mahtomedi, North St. Paul, Richfield, St. Thomas Academy, Simley, South St. Paul, and Tartan

South Suburban (V & JV):
Apple Valley, Bloomington Jefferson, Bloomington Kennedy, Burnsville, Eagan, Eastview, Lakeville North, Lakeville South, Prior Lake and Rosemount

Missota (V & B):
Academy of Holy Angels, Farmington, Northfield (V only), Chaska, Chanhassen, Red Wing (V only) and Shakopee

North Suburban (Varsity only):
Benilde St. Margaret, Chisago Lakes, Columbia Heights, Fridley, Irondale, North Branch, Robbinsdale Cooper, St. Louis Park, Spring Lake Park, St. Francis, and Totino-Grace

Northwest Suburban (Varsity only):
Andover, Anoka, Blaine, Centennial, Champlin Park, Coon Rapids, Elk River, Maple Grove, Osseo, Park Center, Robbinsdale Armstrong

Suburban East (V & JV):
Cretin-Derham Hall, East Ridge, Forest Lake, Mounds View, Park of Cottage Grove, Roseville, Stillwater, White Bear Lake and Woodbury