MBA April 09 Meeting Notes

April 2009 Board Meeting Notes

The Board of Directors of the MBA met last Friday night and Saturday afternoon. The purpose of the meetings were to determine the Class "B" sections and Class "C" regions. There wasn't much discussion on the "B" sections although they did note that there is a number discrepancy between some sections. The general consensus was that if teams request to move to a section with less than five teams the Board would give them serious consideration

The Class "C" regional alignment took a long discussion to shake it all out. Three general themes came to the table in the discussion. The first was number of teams in a region. Second was travel and third was whether or not to accommodate some leagues requests to be put into different regions.

The regions were agreed upon and the average number of teams in a region is 14.25 teams. The region with the least teams is Region 12 with 9 teams (however, they have the most travel) and the region with the most teams is region 8 with 20 teams (all of the Victory leagues). Region 8 paid out $322.30 per game last year, second most of any region or section.

Here are the Section and Regions assignments:

Class B Sections 2009
Section 1: Meisville, Dundas, Red Wing, Hastings, Northfield
Section 2: Austin Greyhounds, Austin Blue Sox, Rochester Royals
Section 3: Shakopee Indians, Jordan, Prior Lake Jays, Chaska, Victoria, Green Isle
Section 4: Mankato Twins, Marshall A's, Waseca, New Ulm Kaiserhoff
Section 5: Burnsville, Lakeville, Savage, Apple Valley, Rosemount, Eagan, Inver Grove
Heights, Elko
Section 6: Bemidji, Duluth, Hibbing, Grand Rapids, Nashwauk, Blaine
Section 7: Cold Spring, Brainerd Bees, Sauk Rapids, East Bethel, Soderville, Hamel,
Coon Rapids Redbirds
Section 8: Maple Lake, Delano, Hutchinson, Dassel-Cokato, St. Michael, Plato

45 Teams, 8 Sections

Class C Regions 2009
Region 1: Eastern Minny North Hinckley, Quamba, Mora, Aitkin
Eastern Minny West Isanti, Milaca, Princeton, Chisago Lakes
Metro Minny Red Andover, St. Francis, Champlin, Anoka
Metro Minny Blue Big Lake, Forest Lake, Ham Lake, Rum River

Region 2: Tomahawk American Essig, Searles, Gibbon, Lamberton
Tomahawk East Patriot Leavenworth, Springfield, Stark, St. James
Tomahawk National Sleepy Eye, New Ulm Brewers, Redwood Falls, Hanska

Regon 3: DRS White St. Patrick, St. Benedict, New Prague, Shakopee
DRS Blue New Market, Veseli, Union Hill, PriorLake Mudcats
Classic Cannon Valley Cannon Falls, Hampton, Randolph

Region 4: 13-60 Black Blue Earth, Wells, Cleveland, New Richland, Lake Crystal
13-60 Blue Waterville, Cleveland, Minnesota Lake, Morristown, Mankato Cubs
DRS Red Montgomery, Lonsdale, Webster

Region 5: Twin Rivers Root Lake City, Wanamingo, Pine Island, Stewartville, Plainview
Twin Rivers Zumbro Kasson, St. Charles, Winona, Rochester Roadruners, Caledonia
Southern Minny Faribault, Rochester Blues, Albert Lea, Owatonna, Mankato Mets

Region 6: River Valley West Wintrop, Arlington, Gaylord, St. Peter, Fairfax
River Valley Central LeSueur, Belle Plaine, Waconia, Henderson
Northstar East Albertville, Rogers, Elk River, Loretto, Maple Plain, Mound

Region 7: Crow River North Watertown, St. Bonifacious, Mayer, New Germany, Winsted,
Crow River South Hamburg Norwood, Young America, Cologne, Brownton, Carver

Region 8: Victory East Pierz Bulldogs, Pierz Brewers, Lastrup, Buckman, Foley
Victory North Brainerd Braves, Fort Ripley, Harding, Cuyuna, St. Mathias
Victory South Holdingford, St. Stephen, Avon, Opole, St. Wendel
Victory West Sobieski, Flensburg, Upsala, Randall, Royalton

Region 9: Land O'Ducks Teal Canby, Appleton, Rosen, Ortonville, Benson, Madison
Land O'Ducks Wood Dumont, Morris Clinton, Wheaton, Chokio
Corn Belt South Raymond, Bird Island, Willmar, Sacred Heart, Granite Falls, Milroy

Region 10: Lakewood National Sartell, Becker, Clear Lake, St. Cloud Snappers, Litchfield,
St. Joseph
Lakewood American St. Cloud Ortho, Granite City Grays, Sauk Centre, Freeport, Sauk Rapids Jimmy's

Region 11: Central Valley North Pearl Lake, St. Augusta, Kimball, St. Nicholas
Central Valley South Luxemburg, Eden Valley, Watkins, Cold Spring Rockies
North Star West Howard Lake, Kingston, Buffalo, Monticello, Rockford

Region 12: Norman Polk Ada, Crookston, East Grand Forks, Roseau, Warroad
West Central Morhead Miners, Moorhead Brewers, Moorhead Expos,
Moorhead Saints

Region 13: First Nite Jackson, Windom, Fairmont, Mountain Lake, Fox Lake,
Heron Lake
Gopher Wilmont, Hadley, Luverne, Pipestone, Adrian, Tracy, Milroy
Irish, Minneota

Region 14: HI-10 New York Mills, Bluffton, Perham, Wadena/Deer Creek,
Bertha, Detroit Lakes, Dent Bulldogs
Lake & Pine South Staples, Nimrod, Nisswa, Sebeka, Verndale
Resorters East Carlos, Urbank-Parkers Prairie, Clarissa, Miltona, Long

Region 15: Stearns County North Meire Grove, Greenwald, New Munich, Elrosa, Spring Hill
Stearns County South St. Martin, Richmond, Farming, Roscoe, Lake Henry
Corn Belt North Regal, Norway Lake, New London-Spicer, Paynesville,
Starbuck, Atwater

Region 16: Lake & Pine North Midway, Wolf Lake, Huntersville, Red Eye, Bagley
Resorters West Barrett, Kensington, Ashby, Brandon-Evansville, Alexandria
Senators, Osakis
Countryside Pelican Rapids, Vergas, Dent Wildcats, Fergus Falls, Frazee,

228 Teams in 16 Regions

New 2009 Region Commissioners Appointed:
Region 9 is Dale Przymus from Chokio Phone number 320-563-8181

Region 10 is Ryan O'Hara from St. Cloud 320-249-8105

Board Makes Two Changes to Rules
In the Saturday meeting the Board made two changes to their rules. Players that have never signed a contract no longer need to get a release from the closest team before they play with the team of their choice. In the November meeting the board ruled that players living in the country needed to get a release, just like the city players, before they signed their first contract. After it was addressed and discussed at least three times during the meeting the Board voted 9-0 that: No first time player is required to get a release before they sign their first contract with the team of their choice (within the radius).


The Board addressed the issue of three team leagues again. The Board decided that any league that was a three team league this year could have the option to send either one or two teams to the region this year only. They must decide this before they begin their league play this year. In the March meeting the board had allowed the Classic Cannon Valley League to send two teams to the region for this year only. To be fair, they decided that all three team leagues would have the same option this year.

News Flash

*NW General Membership Meeting - TBD 2020

You are here: Home NW Umpire Info Amateur MBA April 09 Meeting Notes